My Shiny Teeth and Me

Based on the title, you either a) think I’m gonna talk about my teeth, b) have this fantastic song stuck in your head, or c) both. Well, all answers are wrong (just kidding, the song is totally sick in my head). Off topic, the singer of My Shiny Teeth and Me (Chip Skylark) is/was voiced by my favorite member (at the time) of NSYNC, Chris Kirkpatrick (I’m a huge Justin Timberlake fan now).

As a mom of an almost 10 month old, obviously teething is going to happen. Little Man already has his two front bottom teeth and is working on his two front top teeth. These babies are giving him HELL! When the first two teeth came in, he had none of the usual symptoms. With these two stupid teeth, he’s super whiny and so freaking congested that he can’t sleep without sounding like Brainy when he’s always behind Helga! There’s an old cartoon reference that I hope everyone gets (I had to Google the kid’s name).

Anyone that has a super active baby knows that a baby with a congested nose is one of the MOST frustrating things in the world! You know that moment when you’re trying to clean out baby’s nose with the sucker (aspirator for you fancy types) and suddenly they start thrashing like crazy before you even get the stupid thing in their nostril?! That’s the moment when I wish I were an octopus for the millionth time since becoming a mom. Plus, I was trying to put saline in to break up all the grossness so I did what any mom who doesn’t happen to be an octopus would do. I put my legs straight out, put Little Man in between them, tucked his arms under my legs, and held his head with my knees. That sounds awful but I’m sure every mom has done it. I don’t know about you but that nasty congested nose drives me crazy and makes me wish babies understood how to blow their noses! Luckily, I got it all out and now he’s sleeping peacefully with no nasty noises at all.

I can’t believe I just wrote an entire blog post ranting about teething and snot. If that doesn’t prove that I’m a mom, then I don’t know what does. I’m gonna go watch Mythbusters now because seriously how cool is this 9 day marathon they’ve got going on?! I’ll be back here when I can figure out what else to write about. See you later!

Leave a Reply

